Online Services

Online Vehicle Registration Renewal Online Property Tax, Water & Sewer payments Online Dog License Renewals Vital Record Request
GIS & Property Database

View of Carroll from Sugarloaf

Minutes of Town Board Meetings

Search Minutes of Town Board Meetings

2020 Building Committee Archives

Older Archives

Minutes of 1/30/2020 APPROVED

March 12th, 2020

January 30, 2020

Meeting brought to order at 9:00 a.m. by Imre Szauter

Pledge of Allegiance

Present: Allan Clark, Mike Finn, Bill Gemmer, Michael Hogan, Susan Kraabel, Bonnie Moroney, Janet Nelson, Terry Penner, Mark Sullivan, Imre Szauter, and Rena Vecchio. Excused: John Gardiner, Anita Greer, John Greer, and David Scalley. Guests: Carol Alvarez, Austin Alvarez

The meeting began with each attendee identifying him/herself.

After introductions, Imre asked if there were any changes to the minutes of the December 12 meeting. None presented, Bonnie Moroney then moved to accept the minutes as written. Michael Hogan seconded the motion. The motion passed with Janet Nelson and Terry Penner abstaining because they had not attended the meeting.
Allan Clark presented his quarterly report for the period of October 1 to December 31, and a printed copy is attached. Allan said that we will be under budget, but he’s not sure how much money there will be for equipment and furniture. The move will start on March 27 and must be done by March 31. Demolition of the existing Town Hall will start April 1 and be done by April 10.

Mike Finn said that now that we have an opening date, the Dedication Committee will get together to start planning. He suggested a July date as possible for the dedication. Mike suggested the committee get together on February 5th or 7th, and asked committee members to let him know which they prefer, and which time of day. Committee members in addition to Mike Finn are Rena, Bonnie, Anita, Michael Hogan, and Terry Penner.
Michael noted that there will be one American flag at each of the new buildings, and both will be lighted. Michael will get some prices for granite stones to be placed at the flag sites.

In the month of February, the Historical Society members along with Dave Scalley will meet to go through the Town Hall to tag items to be moved and preserved. All these items must be out by March 31. Saving the cupola was mentioned, and Allan said the demolition crew would not remove it, and if we found someone who would take it down, it had to be gone before the demolition crew arrived. In February, the asbestos found in the basement boiler room and the second floor tile, will be properly removed. These are the only two areas found with asbestos present.

Imre will be asking for volunteers to help with the move once we get closer to the move. He will ask people to sign up for specific dates and times. He said we will have 5 days for this move, and John Gardiner has a commitment from the Junior ROTC of the WMR High School to move the library contents on Saturday, March 28th. Dave Scalley is looking into getting a non-motorized conveyor belt to cover the 30 feet between the new and old buildings, thus allowing the boxes to be slid across the gap. The actual boxes are free, a generous donation to the town.

Rena spoke about the Petitioned Warrant Article asking voters for $25,000 to save the gymnasium portion of the Town Hall. She talked about she and Mike Gooden having gathered signatures from people at the Transfer Station, and their hope to save the gymnasium to be used as an Historical Society Museum. She explained that they thought that if the article passed, they would have at least into the month of April to come up with additional money, and that’s not the case. The fact that saving the gym would impact the cost of the new buildings was brought up – drainage, parking, etc. And, lastly, it was stated that this is a non-binding warrant article, so that even if it passed, the selectmen could vote to not save the gym, and since they have already stated they do not approve of the article, there would be little chance that the gym would be saved. However, the warrant article must appear on the ballot.

Imre reminded everyone that the Deliberative Session of Town Meeting will be Tuesday, February 4th at 6:30 p.m. in the Fire Station. Two other dates mentioned:
Presidential Primary Election: Tuesday, February 11 at the Town Hall from 11 am – 7 pm.
Town Vote, 2nd session of Town Meeting: Tuesday, March 10 at the Town Hall from 8 am – 7 pm.

The next meeting for this committee will be Thursday, March 12, at 9 am in the Town Hall.

Michael moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Bill. Motion passed.
Meeting adjourned at 10:15 a.m.
Most of the group adjourned for a tour of the new buildings.